Speed Drawing #1: The Dark Knight Returns!

Welcome to the first installment of The Weibcomics Speed Sketch featuring BATMAN from The Dark Knight Returns! Batman and all related characters and indicia are property of DC Comics and WB, 2001 – 2013.

20140227_040708000_iOS

Like my previous Wolverine sketch, I drew The Dark Knight using an Adonit stylus. I started off drawing a rough thumbnail, much like I would on paper, where you sketch a drawing very small to get a rough idea how the piece will look.

20140227_135304000_iOS

Once I rough out the figure, then I went on with drawing in the detail. I’m a big fan of Jon Suzuki’s character design from the Animated Feature, so I used that as my reference point. I made some alterations and left some details out as I went, given this is a speed sketch. I laid in the color before adding the shadow, so I knew what color I wanted to use for shadowing. I ended up using a dark purple to add shadow as I knew that would blend with the colors used here.

20140227_134627000_iOS

Below is the final drawing in full 1920 x 1080 resolution. My goal was to produce this fast and it was a great way to practice with using the Adonit stylus. I’m getting so much more used to drawing with the Adonit and I look forward to using it more.

20140226_213447000_iOS

I hope you enjoyed the video! I plan to make The Weibcomics Speed Sketch a regular feature, so please make sure to Like & Subscribe to Weibcomics on Youtube to receive all the latest updates, including exclusive content, promos, and more from my all-ages series of Graphic Novels, Intercept Now! If you would like to suggest a character for me to draw in the next Speed Sketch, please leave a comment below!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Weibcomics Speed Drawing Series

Leave a Reply

about-me-img-link.png

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

ALL IMAGES ARE (C) & TM PAT WEIBEL 2013 AND/OR THEIR RESPECTIVE OWNERS.

