Speed Drawing #2: Rocket Raccoon!

Welcome to the latest installment of The Weibcomics Speed Sketch featuring ROCKET RACCOON from Marvel Comics’ Guardians of the Galaxy! Rocket Raccoon, Guardians of the Galaxy, and all related characters and indicia are property of Marvel Comics and Disney, 2014.

20140305_165923000_iOSI did a few thumbnails to arrive at this pose. The initial inspiration for this pose was a superhero pin-up by Bruce Timm, which I thought would fit Rocket’s posture pretty well. It took some tweaking to settle on his proportions, as I thought I drew his head a bit too small at first and had to resize it. The costume he’s wearing is based on his live-action iteration in the Guardians of the Galaxy trailer. I really like how almost gentle and pup-faced rocket is standing in rest in the trailer, so I wanted his face to have a bit of that quality while still retaining Rocket’s gruff attitude.

20140305_181811000_iOS

I wanted the shadows on his body not to be too harsh or moody. When I lay in the shadow I’m also trying to consider how the shadow will affect the colors I use in his design. I considered using a dark blue for the shadow, but opted to use solid black on a layer at 40% opacity.

20140305_175551000_iOS

I didn’t realize at while drawing this, but the way I drew Rocket’s arms have a definitely Angry Beavers vibe. I’m looking forward to drawing the rest of the Guardians of the Galaxy team! I’d also like to visit Rocket Raccoon again and take a stab at drawing him in his red & blue outfit from the comics!

20140305_182902000_iOS

I hope you enjoyed the video! Please make sure to Like & Subscribe to Weibcomics on Youtube to receive all the latest updates, including exclusive content, promos, and more from my all-ages series of Graphic Novels, Intercept Now!

If you would like to suggest a character for me to draw in the next Weibcomics Speed Sketch, please leave a comment below!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Weibcomics Speed Drawing Series

Leave a Reply

about-me-img-link.png

Instagram
Warm-up head #sketch in #AdobeSketch for #iPad. Drawn with #AdobeInk #stylus. Played with two design elements I don't usually incorporate in my characters: Decided to try out the solid color "red stuffy nose" design element I see a lot in #characterdesign these days, and opted to give him a long #SamuraiJack style jawline! EDIT: Apparently, the red nose style has a name: "Tumblr Nose"#tumblrnose #illustration #doodling #conceptart #quickdraw #design #digitalart #process

ALL IMAGES ARE (C) & TM PAT WEIBEL 2013 AND/OR THEIR RESPECTIVE OWNERS.

