Speed Drawing #3: Scarlet Witch (The Avengers: Age Of Ultron)

Welcome to the latest installment of The Weibcomics Speed Sketch featuring SCARLET WITCH from Marvel Comics’ The Avengers: Age of Ultron! Scarlet Witch, The Avengers, Ultron, and all related characters and indicia are property of Marvel Comics and Disney, 2014.

20140327_144508000_iOS

I drew this piece based on the Scarlet Witch concept art Marvel released last week. In recent set photos from the upcoming sequel’s shoot, her outfit is slightly different, but I opted to go with the concept art design as I thought the white dress would go well with the rest of the colors in her outfit. I referenced what her stockings and boots looked like in the stock photos but streamlined them.

20140328_125824000_iOS

I started this with a thumbnail. This was drawn digitally, but I still sketched this pose out very small. I referenced a Frank Cho pin-up of Scarlet Witch from her Wiki page, which featured how Scarlet Witch’s hands are posed when she uses magic. I did a couple passes at how to pose the legs but once I got this pose I moved on to fleshing out her proportions.

20140328_125747000_iOS

Figuring out how to draw her hair was tricky. At first I wanted to capture the “upwind” look of her hair in the concept art but it was tricky getting that right, so I just drew her hair falling naturally but still wanted it to have some movement. Her hands were tricky, particularly her left hand. I drew a few different poses for that and settled on a clasped hand so I could move on with the rest of the drawing and not fuss with it too long. I have to remind myself doing these that this is a Speed Drawing and there will inevitably be parts of the drawing process that will get edited out in the final video.

20140328_125655000_iOS

 

20140328_125620000_iOS

I wanted to light the character with some ‘up-lighting’, as if the headlights from a car were gaining on her. The color selection was made easy by the concept art, as I really like the palette they selected. I wanted to give her kinda pale skin, as a nod to her look in X-Men Evolution. I also went with more orange shade of red for her hair so it wasn’t too close to her coat.

20140328_125536000_iOS

Here’s the final version! I hope you enjoyed reading about this process. I love The Avengers, from live-action to animation and the original comics, so I’ll definitely consider drawing more of those iterations of the characters in the future. If you have a particular Avenger you’d like to see drawn, please let me know in the comments below!

Check out previous Weibcomics Speed Drawing Episodes HERE and HERE!

Subscribe to my YouTube Channel to see the latest episodes from this series!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Weibcomics Speed Drawing Series

Leave a Reply

about-me-img-link.png

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Instagram
Warm-up head #sketch in #AdobeSketch for #iPad. Drawn with #AdobeInk #stylus. Played with two design elements I don't usually incorporate in my characters: Decided to try out the solid color "red stuffy nose" design element I see a lot in #characterdesign these days, and opted to give him a long #SamuraiJack style jawline! EDIT: Apparently, the red nose style has a name: "Tumblr Nose"#tumblrnose #illustration #doodling #conceptart #quickdraw #design #digitalart #process

ALL IMAGES ARE (C) & TM PAT WEIBEL 2013 AND/OR THEIR RESPECTIVE OWNERS.

